Mentor Profiles

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Andrea Aguilera Villalobos

she/her/ella

My name is Andrea Aguilera Villalobos, and I am a CPS alumni. I graduated from Dominican University with a double major in Sociology and Women and Gender Studies with a concentration in social services. Being involved in my community and volunteering to support youth is a personal commitment of mine, and that is also what I like to dedicate my free time towards. In the future I plan to become a bilingual social worker and obtain my masters degree from Loyola. I’m currently working at The Chicago Public Education Fund, a non-profit organization that supports and create programs for CPS principals. Previously I was working at Network 8 at CPS. Working in education over the past 3-4 years has allowed me to understand the importance of supporting educators, students, and parents. Outside of work and volunteering, I like to spend time at the gym and with my friends and family.

Favorite Hobbies: Working out, going to concerts, traveling

Thinking back on the support I needed when I was a high school student trying to navigate higher education and applying to college as an undocumented student was a bit difficult. I learned so much and gathered resources while going through that, so if I can be of any support to anyone going through that process right now and make it a bit less stressful, I’m definitely willing to go the extra mile to support.

Gabriela Castillo

she/her

Born in Mexico City in 2002 and immigrated to the United States on 2005 with the ambition and hope from my parents. I am currently attending the University of Illinois at Chicago majoring in Psychology and doing a minor on Sociology. I aspire to be a mental health therapist for children as I believe mental health should be prioritized and taken seriously in early years.

Favorite hobbies: watching Marvel movies with my nephew and niece, collecting candles, and to take care of my indoor plants.

I chose to join the UndocuMentored Team because I resonate with what the team stands for and prioritizing undocumented students during high school and their post-secondary journey. Due to my experience as an undocumented student, it was personally important that I help others like me to go through an easier post-secondary journey.

Andrea martinez

she/her

I grew up in and currently reside in Chicago, but I am originally from Tarimoro, Guanajuato. I am the oldest of four siblings, a Scorpio and a proud DACAmented student! I will be graduating from Dominican University this May with a bachelors in Sociology and minors in Chemistry and Biology. I plan on taking a gap year before continuing my education and attending medical school. I’m not sure what I’d like to specialize in yet, but I feel drawn to female reproductive health or endocrinology. During my upcoming gap year I plan on traveling, resting, doing research and expanding both my personal and professional experiences. In my free time, I like to read (currently reading Todas nuestras noches by Maximiliano Pizzicotti), journal and paint.

Favorite hobbies: Painting, yoga, and studying astrology

It was through my own mentors that I realized the value of my experiences as an undocumented individual and gained pride in who I am. I joined UndocuMentored because I want others to recognize the power and the capacity to make a difference that they hold in their identity!

Juan Rosas

he/him

Chicago native. I attend Lewis University and major in aviation administration. I aspire to one day be a commercial pilot.

Favorite hobbies: work out, travel, eat

I want to become a better mentor and resource for the youth. It was hard growing up without sense of direction as an undocumented student. I want to help those who feel lost.